About the Department of Clinical Neurosciences

The Department of Clinical Neurosciences consists of two components – the Neurology Clinic and the Psychiatric Department – which provide teaching in neurological and psychiatric disciplines.

Neurology Clinic

Theoretical teaching takes place at the Neurology Clinic library (on the 6th floor of the main University Hospital building), and practical training takes place at the in-patient units of the Neurology Clinic, including the intensive care unit and the stroke unit. Teaching focuses on the specific features of the individual disciplines – diagnostics, treatment, prevention and nursing care in neurological illnesses, with a strong emphasis on both theoretical and practical information concerning the latest developments in the field.

Psychiatric Department

The Psychiatric Department forms an integral part of the Faculty of Medicine’s Department of Neurology and Psychiatry. It teaches courses in psychiatric care provision, focusing on the specific requirements of individual degree subjects. The courses cover diagnostics, treatment, prevention and nursing care in psychiatric illnesses. Students of the General Medicine degree do part of their practical placement at the Psychiatric Hospital in Opava. The tuition emphasizes an optimum balance between theoretical knowledge and practical skills.

Updated: 21. 09. 2020